The Intake

I’m entering a new stage in my life. Next year I’ll be studying at Fontys University of Applied Science in Tilburg. As you may have seen I was doing some preparations for an intake at Fontys Academy for Creative Industries, because I very much like to study International lifestyle Studies. Yep, I can hear you thinking: ‘What the fudge is that?’ Well, to keep a long story short, I’ll train us to be a trend watcher and concept developer. In the first 2,5 year we’ll get trained in all the six themes which are appearance, living, health, food, human movement and leisure. The last 1,5 year we have to chose two of them to specialize ourselves on. (and participate in a minor of course) But that’ll take a while before I have to make those decisions. So let’s start at the beginning, the intake…

We had to do ‘some’ preps, so we go a letter with instructions. The first thought I was having while reading it was ‘Oh my fudging God. We had to make a visual of ourselves, a self-assessment, a CV, a letter of application in English, an English test and a summary of a short clip of Jamie Oliver.
Pretty intimidating, isn’t it? I guess they must have thought of that as well, because one of the last comments was: “If you have changed your mind…” I didn’t change my mind and worked my butt off.

The most challenging thing of the preps was the letter of application. It was really hard for me to say that I’m good at something. Eventually I was able to write one.
The thing I enjoyed most to do was my visual. I put a lot of work in it and I was and still am very happy with the piece I delivered.
So preps finished, it was time for the real thing… The Intake.

We started off with a small speed dating session and an Elevator Pitch.. no fun for me, I was shaking like hell, but I did it. Then we had to make a kind of presentation, our keyword was durable. While making this presentation, people we called away for the interview and a little chat whit an English teacher.
I think I did quite well at the interview. I didn’t black out, what I actually expected to happen. (It happened before, that’s why I was thinking this). The conversation went well too, I know that my (verbal) English is good. So I was quite confident about that.
We also did a little creative session, our keyword was Bike and we hat to name everything we would come up with by thinking of a bike.
After this we had to create something which would make the elderly people less lonely.
The presentation sucked, because so many people were called away all the time, so we had kind of… nothing.
We did all this in about 3 hours and I had a blast although it was a little nerve-racking.

I’ll get the result/advise this week, so fingers crossed!!

My visual (my theme was Romy from A to Z)

Edit: I recieved word yesterday. I got a positive advise!!! So next year I’ll be studying at Fontys Academy for Creative Industries!!!

xoxo Romy

Comments
2 Responses to “The Intake”
  1. Great post thanks for sharing. Your layout is excellent. I enjoyed reading today’s article very much.

Leave a Reply

